Z. TUUM TUMB BIBLIOGRAPHY “read before you think”

Simon Reynolds

Rip it up and start again

Postpunk 1978–1984

Publication thumbnail.

Format: Softcover book

Publisher: Faber & Faber

Country: United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

Publish date: 21 April 2005

Pages: 608

Product dimensions: 152 × 230 × 36 mm

ISBN-10: 0571215696

ISBN-13: 978-0571215690

Language: English


‘A fantastic tribute to an amazingly creative musical period… An instant pop classic, worthy of a place on your shelves beside the handful of music books that really matter.’ John McTernan, Scotland on Sunday

Punk revitalized rock in the mid-seventies, but the movement soon degenerated into self-parody. Rip It Up and Start Again is the first book-length celebration of what happened next: post-punk bands who dedicated themselves to fulfilling punk’s unfinished musical revolution. 1978–1984 rivals the sixties for the sheer amount of fabulous music created, the spirit of adventure and possibility that infused it, and the way the sounds felt inextricably connected to the political and social turbulence of the day. Simon Reynolds, acclaimed author of Energy Flash, recreates a time of tremendous urgency and idealism in pop music. Packed with anecdote and insight, populated by charismatic and maverick characters, Rip It Up and Start Again stands as one of the most inspired and inspiring books on popular music ever written.

‘I had never expected there to be a book on this subject; had I done so, I would never have dared to hope it could be as good as this.’ Nicholas Lezard, Guardian Book of the Week

‘This remarkable and perfectly timed cultural history is required reading.’ Q Magazine

Buy this publication