ZANG TUMMM TUMB ARTICLES “the first draft of history”

Propaganda return with new single

PROPAGANDA return this week, five years after their last hit, ‘Duel, with a new label, Virgin, and an almost completely new line-up.

The lack of the original bands main focal point, Claudia Brucken, might make their return seem somewhat nominal — but the fact that the new line-up includes founding member of Simple Minds, bassist Derek Forbes (who appeared with them live as long ago as 1985) and another ex-Mind, drummer Brian McGhee, should prompt some interest in the new outfit. Theres also a new vocalist, Betsy Miller, and the only original Propaganda member is Michael Mertens.

The new single is called ‘Heaven Gives Me Words and was written by Mertens along with producer Ian Stanley and Howard Jones, and is a taster for their new album, due soon.