ZANG TUMB TUMB DISCOGRAPHY “…which deny the freedom of the flesh…”


The organization of pop — Music from the first thirty years of ZTT Records

New York edition

Type: Compilation

Format: Compact disc ×2

Label: Razor & Tie

Catalogue ref.: 79301834992

Series: Element series no. 30.1

Release date: 15 October 2013

Country: United States of America

Sleeve design: Philip Marshall

Notes: Compiled and curated by Ian Peel.

Printed tracklisting

  1. Slave to the rhythm
  2. Relax (New York mix)
  3. Pacific (Justin Strauss 0101 mix)
  4. Beat box
  5. Dr. Mabuse (Abuse)
  6. If I only knew (Cold stop version)
  7. Dance yourself to death (Dust Brothers radio edit)
  8. Sorry for laughing (Unapologetic 12" mix)
  9. Cübik (Pan american excursion)
  10. Two tribes
  11. Haunted
  12. Star star
  13. Moments in love (Beaten)
  14. Piccadilly Circus
  15. We can fly from here (Part one)
  16. Say it to me now
  17. You’re the one
  18. Sweet baby James
  19. Homage to the blessed
  20. Metaforce
  21. Escape from New York (12" version)
  22. Snobbery & decay (That’s entertainment)
  23. I am a camera (12" mix)
  24. Welcome to the pleasuredome (Fruitness)
  25. The moment
  26. We can fly from here (Part two)
  27. Kink konk adagio

Actual tracklisting

Disc 1—The organization of pop (The Action Series, from ZTT)

  1. Grace Jones: Slave to the rhythm 04:24
  2. Frankie Goes To Hollywood: Relax (New York mix) 07:25

aka: Sex mix; US mix; US dance mix; Long version; Trevor Horn’s November 1983 New York night mix

  1. 808 State: Pacific (Justin Strauss 0101 mix) 05:35
  2. Art of Noise: Beat box 04:52
  3. Propaganda: Dr. Mabuse (Abuse) 03:29

aka: Mabusa

  1. Tom Jones: If I only knew (Cold stop version) 03:46
  2. MC Tunes vs 808 state: Dance yourself to death (Dust Brothers radio edit) 05:12
  3. Propaganda: Sorry for laughing (Unapologetic 12") 10:12
  4. 808 State: Cübik (Pan american excursion) 04:29
  5. Frankie Goes To Hollywood: Two tribes (For the victims of ravishment) 03:28
  6. Shane MacGowan and Sinead O’Connor: Haunted 04:12
  7. The Frames: Star star 03:58
  8. Art of Noise: Moments in love (Beaten) 07:01
  9. Adamski’s Thing: Piccadilly Circus 03:24

Disc 2—The disorganization of pop (The Incidental series, from Zang Tuum Tumb)

  1. Buggles: We can fly from here (Part I) 05:14
  2. The Frames: Say it to me now 05:38
  3. Shane MacGowan and Máire Brennan: You’re the one 04:04
  4. Lee Griffiths: Sweet baby James 03:22
  5. Das Psych-Oh Rangers: Homage to the blessed 01:18
  6. Art of Noise featuring Rakim: Metaforce 05:52
  7. Nasty Rox Inc.: Escape from New York (12" version) 08:01
  8. Act: Snobbery & decay (That’s entertainment) 09:53
  9. Buggles: I am a camera (12" mix) 04:20
  10. Frankie Goes To Hollywood: Welcome to the pleasure dome (The alternative) 12:19

aka: Fruitness; Remade by Trevor Horn

  1. Lisa Stansfield: The moment 04:56
  2. Buggles: We can fly from here (Part II) 04:07
  3. Andrew Poppy: Kink konk adagio 06:06

Occasionally the tracklisting printed on the sleeve art of a release isn’t 100% accurate. Tracks may be missing, mixes unspecified or misnamed. For this reason a more accurate actual tracklisting is shown alongside the printed tracklisting.

Buy/stream this release


808 State

Andreas Thein

Andrew Poppy

Anne Dudley

Art of Noise

Brian ‘Nasher’ Nash

Bruce Woolley

Claudia Brücken

Gary Langan

Geoff Downes

Holly Johnson

JJ Jeczalik

Lee Griffiths

Lisa Stansfield

Mark O’Toole

MC Tunes

Michael Mertens

Paul Morley

Peter ‘Ped’ Gill

Ralf Dörper

Shane MacGowan

Steve Lipson

Thomas Leer

Trevor Horn