ZANG TUMMM TUMB ARTICLES “the first draft of history”

PROPAGANDA release a single, “Heaven Give Me Words”, through Virgin on April 9. This is their first release since lead singer Claudia Brucken left the band to pursue a solo career and the band split with the record company ZTT, after protracted legal wrangles.

The new line-up consists of Michael Mertens, the man responsible for most of Propagandas earlier music, vocalist Betsy Miller, plus Derek Forbes and Brian McGee, who previously played bass and drums for Simple Minds. The single was produced by Ian Stanley and Chris Hughes. Although not officially part of the Propagandas new line-up, former members Suzanne Freytag and lyricist Rolf Dorper have contributed to the forthcoming album, due out on May 8.